Thomas Haettel

Research

Research topics


Preprints


  1. "Injective metrics on buildings and symmetric spaces", preprint (2021), arXiv.
  2. In this article, we show that the Goldman-Iwahori metric on the space of all norms on a fixed vector space satisfies the Helly property for balls.
    On the non-Archimedean side, we deduce that most classical Bruhat-Tits buildings may be endowed with a natural piecewise sup metric which is injective. We also prove that most classical semisimple groups over non-Archimedean local fields act properly and cocompactly on Helly graphs. This gives another proof of biautomaticity for their uniform lattices.
    On the Archimedean side, we deduce that most classical symmetric spaces of non-compact type may be endowed with a natural piecewise ℓ∞ metric which is coarsely Helly. We also prove that most classical semisimple groups over Archimedean local fields act properly and cocompactly on injective metric spaces.
    The only exception is the special linear group: if n is at least 3 and K is a local field, we show that SL(n,K) does not act properly and coboundedly on an injective metric space.


  3. "The coarse Helly property, hierarchical hyperbolicity, and semihyperbolicity", with Nima Hoda and Harry Petyt, preprint (2020), arXiv.
  4. We relate three classes of nonpositively curved metric spaces: hierarchically hyperbolic spaces, coarsely Helly spaces, and strongly shortcut spaces. We show that any hierarchically hyperbolic space admits a new metric that is coarsely Helly. The new metric is quasi-isometric to the original metric and is preserved under automorphisms of the hierarchically hyperbolic space. We show that any coarsely Helly metric space of uniformly bounded geometry is strongly shortcut. Consequently, hierarchically hyperbolic groups---including mapping class groups of surfaces---are coarsely Helly and coarsely Helly groups are strongly shortcut. Using these results we deduce several important properties of hierarchically hyperbolic groups, including that they are semihyperbolic, have solvable conjugacy problem, are of type FP∞, have finitely many conjugacy classes of finite subgroups, and their finitely generated abelian subgroups are undistorted. Along the way we show that hierarchically quasiconvex subgroups of hierarchically hyperbolic groups have bounded packing.


  5. "Tangent bundles of hyperbolic spaces and proper affine actions on Lp spaces", with Indira Chatterji, François Dahmani and Jean Lécureux, preprint (2019), arXiv.
  6. We define the notion of a negatively curved tangent bundle of a metric measured space. We prove that, when a group G acts on a metric measured space X with a negatively curved tangent bundle, then G acts on some Lp space, and that this action is proper under suitable assumptions. We then check that this result applies to the case when X is Gromov-hyperbolic.


  7. "Horofunction Compactifications of Symmetric Spaces", with Anna-Sofie Schilling, Anna Wienhard and Cormac Walsh, preprint (2018), arXiv.
  8. We consider horofunction compactifications of symmetric spaces with respect to invariant Finsler metrics. We show that any (generalized) Satake compactification can be realized as a horofunction compactification with respect to a polyhedral Finsler metric.


Published articles or accepted for publication


  1. "XXL type Artin groups are CAT(0) and acylindrically hyperbolic", accepted to the Annales de l'Institut Fourier (2021), arXiv.
  2. We describe a simple locally CAT(0) classifying space for extra extra large type Artin groups (with all labels at least 5). Furthermore, when the Artin group is not dihedral, we describe a rank 1 periodic geodesic, thus proving that extra extra large type Artin groups are acylindrically hyperbolic. Together with Property RD proved by Ciabonu, Holt and Rees, the CAT(0) property implies the Baum-Connes conjecture for all extra extra large type Artin groups.


  3. "Cubulation of some triangle-free Artin-Tits groups", accepted to Groups, Geometry and Dynamics (2020), arXiv.
  4. We prove that some classes of triangle-free Artin-Tits groups act properly on locally finite, finite-dimensional CAT(0) cube complexes. In particular, this provides the first examples of Artin-Tits groups that are properly cubulated but cannot be cocompactly cubulated, even virtually. The existence of such a proper action has many interesting consequences for the group, notably the Haagerup property, and the Baum-Connes conjecture with coefficients.


  5. "Virtually cocompactly cubulated Artin-Tits groups", IMRN (2021), 4, 2919-2961, arXiv.
  6. We give a conjectural classification of virtually cocompactly cubulated Artin-Tits groups (i.e. having a finite index subgroup acting geometrically on a CAT(0) cube complex), which we prove for all Artin-Tits groups of spherical type, FC type or two-dimensional type. A particular case is that for n at least 4, the n-strand braid group is not virtually cocompactly cubulated.


  7. "Hyperbolic rigidity of higher rank lattices", with an appendix by Camille Horbez and Vincent Guirardel, Ann. Sci ENS (2020), 4e série, t.53, 437-468, arXiv.
  8. We prove that any action of a higher rank lattice on a Gromov-hyperbolic space is elementary. More precisely, it is either elliptic or parabolic. This is a large generalization of the fact that any action of a higher rank lattice on a tree has a fixed point. A consequence is that any quasi-action of a higher rank lattice on a tree is elliptic, i.e. it has Manning's property (QFA). Moreover, we obtain a new proof of the theorem of Farb-Kaimanovich-Masur that any morphism from a higher rank lattice to a mapping class group has finite image, without relying on the Margulis normal subgroup theorem nor on bounded cohomology. More generally, we prove that any morphism from a higher rank lattice to a hierarchically hyperbolic group has finite image. In the Appendix, Vincent Guirardel and Camille Horbez deduce rigidity results for morphisms from a higher rank lattice to various outer automorphism groups.


  9. "Higher rank lattices are not coarse median", Algebraic and Geometric Topology 16 (2016), no. 5.
  10. We show that symmetric spaces and thick affine buildings which are not of spherical type A_1^r have no coarse median in the sense of Bowditch. As a consequence, they are not quasi-isometric to a CAT(0) cube complex, answering a question of Haglund. Another consequence is that any lattice in a simple higher rank group over a local field is not coarse median.


  11. "The 6-strand braid group is CAT(0)", with Dawid Kielak and Petra Schwer, Geometriae Dedicata 182 (2016), no. 2.
  12. We show that braid groups with at most 6 strands are CAT(0) using the close connection between these groups, the associated non-crossing partition complexes and the embeddability of their diagonal links into spherical buildings of type A. Furthermore, we prove that the orthoscheme complex of any bounded graded modular complemented lattice is CAT(0), giving a partial answer to a conjecture of Brady and McCammond.


  13. "Visual limits of flats in symmetric spaces and Euclidean buildings", published in Transformation Groups 18, Issue 4 (2013), 1055-1089.
  14. Let X be a symmetric space of non-compact type or a locally finite, strongly transitive Euclidean building, and let B denote the geodesic boundary of X. We reduce the study of visual limits of maximal flats in X to the study of limits of apartments in the spherical building B: this defines a natural, geometric compactification of the space of maximal flats of X. We then completely determine the possible degenerations of apartments when X is of rank 1, associated to a classical group of rank 2 or to PGL(4). In particular, we exhibit remarkable behaviours of visual limits of maximal flats in various symmetric spaces of small rank and surprising algebraic restrictions that occur.


  15. "Compactification de Thurston d'espaces de réseaux marqués et de l'espace de Torelli", published in Groups, Geometry and Dynamics, Vol.9, Issue 2 (2015), 331-368.
  16. We define a compactification of symmetric spaces of noncompact type, seen as spaces of isometry classes of marked lattices, analogous to the Thurston compactification of the Teichm\"uller space, and we show that it is equivariantly isomorphic to a Satake compactification. We then use it to define a new compactification of the Torelli space of a hyperbolic surface with marked points, and we show that it is equivariantly isomorphic to the Satake compactification of the image of the period mapping. Finally, we describe the natural stratification of a subset of the boundary.


  17. "Compactification de Chabauty de l'espace des sous-groupes de Cartan de SL_n(R)", published in Mathematische Zeitschrift 274, Issue 1 (2013), 573-601.
  18. Let G be a real semisimple Lie group with finite center, with a finite number of connected components and without compact factor. We are interested in the homogeneous space of Cartan subgroups of G, which can be also seen as the space of maximal flats of the symmetric space of G. We define its Chabauty compactification as the closure in the space of closed subgroups of G, endowed with the Chabauty topology. We show that when the real rank of G is 1, or when G=SL3(R) or SL4(R), this compactification is the set of all closed connected abelian subgroups of dimension the real rank of G, with real spectrum. And in the case of SL3(R), we study its topology more closely and we show that it is simply connected.


  19. "Compactification de Chabauty des espaces symétriques de type non compact", published in Journal of Lie Theory 20 (2010), 437-468.
  20. The space of closed subgroups of a locally compact topological group is endowed with a natural topology, called the Chabauty topology. Let X be a symmetric space of noncompact type, and G be its group of isometries. The space X identifies with the subspace of maximal compact subgroups of G: taking the closure gives rise to the Chabauty compactification of the symmetric space X. Using simpler arguments than those present in the book of Guivarc'h, Ji and Taylor, we describe the subgroups that appear in the boundary of the compactification.


  21. "L'espace des sous-groupes fermés du groupe R x Z", published in Algebraic and Geometric Topology 10 (2010), 1395-1415.
  22. The space of closed subgroups of a locally compact topological group is endowed with a natural topology, called the Chabauty topology. We completely describe the space of closed sugroups of the group RxZ, which is not trivial : for example, its fundamental group is uncountable.


Memoirs


  1. "Compactifications géométriques dans les groupes, les espaces symétriques et les immeubles" (theses.fr link) PhD manuscript, advisor: Frédéric Paulin (December 9th, 2011), Referees: Marc Burger and Bertrand Rémy.
  2. "Compactification de Chabauty des espaces symétriques de type non compact", Master Studies memoir, advisor: Frédéric Paulin (2008).
  3. "Fonctions spéciales et théorie des représentations", with Michal Was, ENS Paris first year Master studies manuscript, advisor: Charles Torossian (2006).

Coauthors



Research stays

Thomas Haettel

Recherche

Thèmes de recherche


Prépublications


  1. "Injective metrics on buildings and symmetric spaces", prépublication (2021), arXiv.
  2. Dans cet article, nous montrons que la distance de Goldman-Iwahori sur l'espace de toutes les normes sur un espace vectoriel fixé vérifie la propriété de Helly pour les boules.
    Du côté non-archimédien, nous en déduisons que la plupart des immeubles de Bruhat-Tits classiques peuvent être munis d'une métrique naturelle du sup, qui est injective. Nous prouvons également que la plupart de groupes semisimples classiques sur des corps locaux non archimédiens agissent proprement et cocompactement sur des graphes de Helly. Ceci donne une autre preuve de la biautomaticité de leurs réseaux uniformes.
    Du côté archimédien, nous en déduisons que la plupart des espace symétriques classiques de type non compact peuvent être munis d'une métrique naturelle du sup, qui est grossièrement Helly. Nous prouvons également que la plupart des groupes semisimples classiques sur des corps locaux archimédiens agissent proprement et cocompactement sur des espaces métriques injectifs.
    La seule exception est le groupe spécial linéaire : si n est au moins égal à 3 et si K est un corps local, nous montrons que SL(n,K) n'agit pas proprement et cobornément sur un espace métrique injectif.


  3. "The coarse Helly property, hierarchical hyperbolicity, and semihyperbolicity", avec Nima Hoda et Harry Petyt, prépublication (2020), arXiv.
  4. Nous relions trois classes d'espaces métriques à courbure négative: les espaces hiérarchiquement hyperboliques, les espaces grossièrement Helly, et les espaces fortement raccourcis. Nous montrons que espace hiérarchiquement hyperbolique admet une nouvelle distance qui est grossièrement Helly. Cette nouvelle distance est quasi-isométrique à la distance originale, et est préservée par le groupe d'automorphismes de l'espace hiérarchiquement hyperbolique. Nous montrons que tout espace métrique grossièrement Helly de géométrie uniformément bornée est fortement raccourci. Par conséquent, les groupes hiérarchiquement hyperboliques--et les groupes modulaires de surfaces en particulier--sont grossièrement Helly, et les groupes grossièrement Helly sont fortement raccourcis. À l'aide de ces résultats, nous déduisons plusieurs propriétés importantes des groupes hiérarchiquement hyperboliques, en particulier : ils sont semihyperboliques, ils ont un problème de conjugaison résoluble, ils sont de type FP∞, ils ont un nombre fini de classes de conjugaisons de sous-groupes finis, et leurs sous-groupes abéliens de type fini sont non distordus. De plus, nous montrons que les sous-groupes hiérarchiquement quasiconvexes de groupes hiérarchiquement hyperboliques ont un empilement borné.


  5. "Tangent bundles of hyperbolic spaces and proper affine actions on Lp spaces", avec Indira Chatterji, François Dahmani et Jean Lécureux, prépublication (2019), arXiv.
  6. Nous définissons une notion de fibré tangent de courbure négative d'un espace métrique mesuré. Nous montrons que si un groupe G agit sur un espace métrique mesuré avec un fibré tangent de courbure négative, alors G agit sur un espace Lp, et de plus cette action est propre sous certaines hypothèses. Nous montrons ensuite que ce résultat s'applique au cas où X est un espace Gromov-hyperbolique.


  7. "Horofunction Compactifications of Symmetric Spaces", avec Anna-Sofie Schilling, Anna Wienhard et Cormac Walsh, prépublication (2018), arXiv.
  8. Nous étudions des compactifications par horofonctions d'espaces symétriques pour des métriques de Finsler invariantes. Nous montrons que toute compactification de Satake (généralisée) peut être obtenue comme une compactification par horofonctions pour une métrique de Finsler polyédrale.


Articles publiés ou acceptés pour publication


  1. "XXL type Artin groups are CAT(0) and acylindrically hyperbolic", accepté aux Annales de l'Institut Fourier (2021), arXiv.
  2. Nous décrivons un espace classifiant simple localement CAT(0) pour les groupes d'Artin de type extra extra large (dont tous les exposants sont au moins 5). De plus, lorsque le groupe n'est pas diédral, nous décrivons une géodésique périodique de rang 1, ce qui implique que ces groupes d'Artin de type extra extra large sont acylindriquement hyperboliques. En conjonction avec la propriété RD prouvée par Ciobanu, Holt et Rees, cela implique la conjecture de Baum-Connes pour tout les groupes d'Artin de type extra extra large.


  3. "Cubulation of some triangle-free Artin-Tits groups", accepté à Groups, Geometry and Dynamics (2020), arXiv.
  4. Nous montrons que plusieurs classes de groupes d'Artin-Tits ont une action propre sur un complexe cubique CAT(0) localement fini, de dimension finie. En particulier, cela fournit les premiers exemples de groupes d'Artin-Tits qui sont proprement cubulés, mais qui ne peuvent pas être cocompactement cubulés, même virtuellement. L'existence d'une telle action propre a de nombreuses conséquences intéressantes pour le groupe, en particulier la propriété de Haagerup, et la conjecture de Baum-Connes avec coefficients.


  5. "Virtually cocompactly cubulated Artin-Tits groups", IMRN (2021), 4, 2919-2961, arXiv.
  6. Nous donnons une classification conjecturale des groupes d'Artin-Tits virtuellement cocompactement cubulés (i.e. ayant un sous-groupe d'indice fini agissant géométriquement sur un complexe cubique CAT(0)), que nous prouvons pour les groupes d'Artin-Tits sphériques, de type FC ou de dimension 2. Un cas particulier est que les groupes de tresses ayant au moins 4 tresses ne sont pas virtuellement cocompactement cubulés.


  7. "Hyperbolic rigidity of higher rank lattices", avec un appendice de Camille Horbez et Vincent Guirardel, Ann. Sci ENS (2020), 4e série, t.53, 437-468, arXiv.
  8. Nous montrons que toute action d'un réseau de rang supérieur sur un espace Gromov-hyperbolique est élémentaire. Plus précisément, toute action est elliptique ou parabolique. Ce résultat est une large généralisation du fait que toute action d'un réseau de rang supérieur sur un arbre a un point fixe. Une conséquence est que toute quasi-action d'un réseau de rang supérieur sur un arbre est elliptique, autrement dit il a la propriété (QFA) de Manning. De plus, nous obtenons une preuve nouvelle du théorème de Farb-Kaimanovich-Masur disant que tout morphisme d'un réseau de rang supérieur vers le groupe modulaire d'une surface est d'image finie, sans avoir recours au théorème du sous-groupe normal de Margulis ni à la cohomologie bornée. Enfin, nous montrons que tout morphisme d'un réseau de rang supérieur vers un groupe hiérarchiquement hyperbolique est d'image finie. Dans l'appendice, vincent Guirardel et Camille Horbez déduisent des résultats de rigidité pour des morphismes de réseaux de rang supérieur à valeurs dans divers groupes d'automorphismes extérieurs.


  9. "Higher rank lattices are not coarse median", Algebraic and Geometric Topology 16 (2016), no. 5.
  10. Nous montrons que les espaces symétriques de type non compact et les immeubles épais affines qui ne sont pas de type sphérique A_1^r ne sont pas grossièrement médians au sens de Bowditch. En particulier, ils ne sont pas quasi-isométriques à un complexe cubique CAT(0), ce qui répond à une question de Haglund. Une autre conséquence est que les réseaux de groupes de Lie simples de rang supérieur sur un corps local ne sont pas grossièrement médians.


  11. "The 6-strand braid group is CAT(0)", avec Dawid Kielak et Petra Schwer, Geometriae Dedicata 182 (2016), no. 2.
  12. Nous montrons que les groupes de tresses ayant au plus 6 tresses sont CAT(0), en nous servant des liens étroits entre ces groupes, les complexes de partitions non croisées associées et leur plongement dans des immeubles sphériques de type A. De plus, nous montrons que le complexe orthoschématique de tout treillis borné gradué complémenté est CAT(0), donnant ainsi une réponse partielle à une conjecture de Brady et McCammond.


  13. "Visual limits of flats in symmetric spaces and Euclidean buildings", Transformation Groups 18, Issue 4 (2013), 1055-1089.
  14. Soit X un espace symétrique de type non compact ou un immeuble euclidien localement fini fortement transitif, et notons B le bord géodésique de X. Nous ramenons l'étude des limites visuelles de plats maximaux de X à celle des limites d'appartements dans l'immeuble sphérique B : ceci définit une compactification naturelle et géométrique de l'espace des plats maximaux de X. Nous déterminons ensuite toutes les dégénérescences possibles de tels appartements lorsque X est de rang 1, associé à un groupe classique de rang 2, ou bien à PGL(4). En particulier, nous mettons en évidence de remarquables comportements de limites visuelles de plats maximaux dans des espaces symétriques variés de petit rang, ainsi que d'étonnantes restrictions algébriques qui apparaissent.


  15. "Compactification de Thurston d'espaces de réseaux marqués et de l'espace de Torelli", publié dans Groups, Geometry and Dynamics, Vol.9, Issue 2 (2015), 331-368.
  16. Nous définissons une compactification des espaces symétriques de type non compact, vus comme espaces de classes d'isométries de réseaux marqués, analogue à la compactification de Thurston de l'espace de Teichmüller, dont nous montrons qu'elle est isomorphe de manière équivariante à une compactification de Satake. Nous nous en servons ensuite pour définir une nouvelle compactification de l'espace de Torelli d'une surface hyperbolique avec des points marqués, dont nous montrons qu'elle est isomorphe de manière équivariante à la compactification de Satake de l'image de l'application période. Enfin, nous décrivons une stratification naturelle d'une partie du bord.


  17. "Compactification de Chabauty de l'espace des sous-groupes de Cartan de SL_n(R)", publié dans Mathematische Zeitschrift 274, Issue 1 (2013), 573-601.
  18. Soit G un groupe de Lie réel semisimple de centre fini, ayant un nombre fini de composantes connexes et sans facteur compact. Nous nous intéressons à l'espace des sous-groupes de Cartan de G, qui peut être aussi vu comme l'espace des plats maximaux de l'espace symétrique de G. Nous définissons sa compactification de Chabauty comme son adhérence dans l'espace des sous-groupes fermés de G, muni de la topologie de Chabauty. Nous montrons ensuite que lorsque le rang réel de G vaut 1, ou que G=SL3(R) ou SL4(R), cette compactification est égale à l'ensemble des sous-groupes fermés connexes abéliens de dimension égale au rang réel de G, de spectre réel. Et dans le cas de SL3(R), nous étudions sa topologie plus finement et nous montrons que l'espace est simplement connexe.


  19. "Compactification de Chabauty des espaces symétriques de type non compact", publié dans Journal of Lie Theory 20 (2010), 437-468.
  20. L'espace des sous-groupes fermés d'un groupe localement compact est muni d'une topologie naturelle appelée topologie de Chabauty. Soit X un espace symétrique de type non compact, et G son groupe d'isométries. L'espace X s'identifie au sous-espace des sous-groupes compacts maximaux de G : en considérant l'adhérence, on obtient la compactification de Chabauty de X. En utilisant des arguments plus simples que ceux du livre de Guivarc'h, Ji et Taylor, nous décrivons les sous-groupes apparaissant au bord de cette compactification.


  21. "L'espace des sous-groupes fermés du groupe R x Z", publié dans Algebraic and Geometric Topology 10 (2010), 1395-1415.
  22. L'espace des sous-groupes fermés d'un groupe topologique localement compact est muni d'une topologie naturelle appelée topologie de Chabauty. Nous décrivons complètement l'espace des sous-groupes fermés du groupe RxZ, qui n'est pas trivial: par exemple, son groupe fondamental n'est pas dénombrable.


Mémoires


  1. "Compactifications géométriques dans les groupes, les espaces symétriques et les immeubles" (lien theses.fr) manuscrit de thèse sous la direction de Frédéric Paulin (9 décembre 2011), Rapporteurs : Marc Burger et Bertrand Rémy.
  2. "Compactification de Chabauty des espaces symétriques de type non compact", mémoire de mastère deuxième année sous la direction de Frédéric Paulin (2008).
  3. "Fonctions spéciales et théorie des représentations", avec Michal Was, mémoire de maîtrise sous la direction de Charles Torossian (2006).

Collaborateurs



Séjours de recherche